Israel elects Netanyahu

U.S. elects Clinton

Unabomb suspect Ted Kaczynski arrested


Shane McMenamy, 16, of Grand Forks, N.D., sank a 22-foot putt for a birdie on the first extra hole to claim the 1996 U.S. Junior Amateur Championship title at Forest Highlands Golf Club in Flagstaff, Ariz.

McMenamy defeated Charles Howell, 17, of Augusta, Ga., who had tied the match by winning the par-5 18th hole with a two-putt birdie from 12 feet.

Howell jumped out in front in the 18-hole final by winning three of the first four holes. He didn't win another hole, however, until the 18th.

McMenamy chipped away at Howell's early lead and then made birdies from six and 20 feet at the 13th and 14th to take a 1 up advantage. He didn't miss a single fairway off the tee and missed only three greens in regulation.

Both McMenamy and Howell lost in the first round of match play in 1995, but Howell advanced to the semifinal round in 1993 and 1994.

Howell didn't putt as well in the final as he did in most of his other matches. For example, he one-putted six times in nine holes to close out Todd Miller, 16, of Napa, Calif., son of 1973 U.S. Open champion Johnny Miller.

In contrast to many juniors who advanced to the final stages of match play, McMenamy said he is able to practice golf only six months of the year.

He made the most of the summer of 1996. In addition to being national champion, he also reigned as the North Dakota match play champion.

Before the Junior Amateur, Flagstaff was nearing a draught emergency. Extended rains on three consecutive days, however, pushed the final two rounds from Saturday to Sunday (July 28). There was even a 10-minute delay in the final match because two elk were grazing near the seventh green.

There were other novelties in the championship supporting the youth movement in golf. Kevin Na of La Canada, Calif., made the field of 156 as a 12-year-old. And Thomas Lee of Lake Mary, Fla., and Kenneth Lewis of South Dennis, Mass., made the match play field of 64 at age 14.

The USGA accepted a record 3,498 entries for the championship, nearly 500 more than the previous high set in 1995.

back to past champions